Free PC Security

This blog has moved to http://freepcsecurity.co.uk

  • Archives


  • Our Reviews
    "I can't find a the perfect word to attach to this website's image because it is out of this world. No matter what type of Computer Security System you are interested in, you'll find help and quality content here. The content is awsome, well displayed and well arranged. The menu and speed is excellent. Navigation, Response and Relevance are also the best of the best. I don't even have to mention the Links because i must admit that i have never seen any better. I will let other people say more or invent other words because it really does suit it! Keep doing what you are doing now because you are exactly on the right path! Thanks for sharing! BOOKMARKED!"

    Ove
    squidoo.com/hardware-core
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

    Our Reviews
    "Great initiative. Will be very usefull to many PC users at home and in business."

    M.
    tnsbelgium.com
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

    Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
    Blogging Den 2

AVG Anti-Spyware

Posted by cotojo on October 9, 2007


AVG Anti-Spyware (previously ewido anti-spyware) can be used as a supplement for existing protection systems under Windows 2000 and XP to help protect you against the latest threats. That’s why AVG Anti-Spyware also works with all current anti-virus programs and firewalls. It protects you against spyware, adware and identity-theft.

windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2mainwindow1.jpg 

 Click Images to enlarge

 

AVG Anti-Spyware offers a high protection level, with many useful features. After 30 days, some of the features get disabled, ie: Resident Shield,  but you’re still able to search for and remove malware, and update definitions manually.

windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2updatescreen1.jpg 
 

 

 

Using AVG Anti-Spyware you can perform a complete system scan, a fast system scan, but also registry scans, memory scans and custom scans, and a shredder that offers Fast, Secure, and Paranoid levels of deletion.

windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2settings2.jpg

The diagnostic tools are spread through different tabs, from running processes to start-up entries to connections. Analysis offers in-depth essential information not only on system processes but Internet connections, programs running from startup, browser plug-ins, and LSPs.

windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2processes2.jpg  windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2connections2.jpg  windowslivewriteravgantispyware-b5b2shredder2.jpg

System requirements: Windows 2000/XP/2003

Download File Size: 11.84MB

Download your copy here 

There is also a pdf user manual available here

Digg!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

14 Responses to “AVG Anti-Spyware”

  1. A few months back I installed AVG onto a fresh installation of XP, and found it was rather slow and resource consuming on my Pentium III 550 Mhz PC. So although there are rave reviews about AVG, I find that it did not meet my needs, as my PC ran too slowly, so I uninstalled it. I believe a more light weight antivirus would have a market out there…. Thanks for the post.

  2. cotojo said

    James aka Spacedog – I sent you an email with some suggestions, hopefully it will have resolved your problems, otherwise get back to me.
    Regards,
    Colin

  3. spacedog said

    w00f w00f = Hello. :p

    I am stone age spacedog with a club and some big fangs trying to work my pc and it aint happening!

    I have AVG free virus(I have had for a while) and 7.5 anti spyware thingy thanks to this site. But I still have popups coming for your computer is infected by windows security centre, also warning signs that I have a data eating virus(Pop Up blocker s set to high). :S Also fairly regular pc total freezes.

    I use msn so if one of you guys that can read my email from the name thingy bit can email and msn me to help it would be most welcome.

    *Try’s not to swing his club at pc for the time being.*

  4. […] for MSN – More Bad News SmitFraudFix and Zlob RemovalAdvanced Windows Care from I0BitAVG Anti-SpywareIOBit Smart Defrag – Updated VersionHappy New Year Around The […]

  5. cotojo said

    Mark – Many thanks for your comment.

    Sadly many sites will download of spyware/malware and viruses while surfing therefore good protection is essential for all users.

    I am currently testing out the one you have linked to and would agree that an all-in-one solution would be preferable. I test all programs/tools thoroughly on another machine for safety reasons.

    Colin

  6. Mark Gilmore said

    Yes I have to agree. Having younger kids in the home that use computers on your home network can be quite annoying. I myself have 3 little ones (all old enough to use a computer) that regularly visit sites for the purpose of playing games. These sites while not initially a serious threat always dump loads of viruses and malware onto my network.

    I spend many hours on computer and network maintenance because of this. While removing the threats isn’t a problem using multiple programs to remove said threats is what takes so much time. It’d be nice to find a free antivirus software that is capable of finding ALL threats in one scan, can eliminate them and then keep them from coming back with real time protection. I’ve looked for such an application but have had no luck thus far.

  7. yes.. you should always look for the best network security firewall so that your computer will no longer at risk..

  8. spyware wiki

    spyware wiki

  9. cotojo said

    Tiny – Thank you for your comment.

    I have never found any problems with AVG, and likewise, it has caught everything over the years for me too.

    Many thanks for your comments on the blog layout too🙂

    Colin

  10. Tiny said

    I have used AVG for years and love it. It has caught everything and has kept me out of trouble.
    Wonderful, easy to move around, informative blog! I love it so much I gave it some fuel.🙂

  11. cotojo said

    Sandy – Thank you for your comment.

    AVG is pretty good, but like many programs it is also worth using other like Spybot and Kaspersky free online scanner, as they all vary in there definition files.

    www jpeg com is malware which also has several unwanted pop-ups, and I’m pleased to hear that you sorted it🙂

    Colin

  12. Thanks for this info.

    We use AVG and find it to be pretty effective, though it let some codec thing through that was printing www jpeg com on all my digital video. We went through and cleaned junk off the hard drive and found it.

  13. cotojo said

    Pearl – Thanks for dropping by🙂

    I find AVG pretty good, but as with all anti-virus programs I wouldn’t use just one. I have AVG installed but regularly also use Kaspersky online and a few others as backups as they all use different scan methods. With malware it’s a case of using a cluster of programs and not relying solely upon one which is something I probably need to go into more depth with in a post🙂

    I read Mike’s comments, made a lot of sense🙂

    Take care🙂

    Colin

  14. pearl said

    Hi Colin…. I tried AVG for a few months and I have to say that in the beginning it was okay and I kinda liked it but slowly I started having more problems and more malware sort of either ‘stayed’ on my pc or somehow got attracted to it and as soon as I uninstalled it, everything was fine.. I have used ZoneAlarm and AdAware on older pc’s .. and I really used to like Adaware… will have to try it again soon!

    I wanted to also let you know that Mike from HubSpot (developers of website grader) commented on our concerns about yahoo and google links and also the readability levels… come on over to read his explanation🙂 tc

Leave a Reply

 
