Free PC Security

This blog has moved to http://freepcsecurity.co.uk

  • Archives


  • Our Reviews
    "I can't find a the perfect word to attach to this website's image because it is out of this world. No matter what type of Computer Security System you are interested in, you'll find help and quality content here. The content is awsome, well displayed and well arranged. The menu and speed is excellent. Navigation, Response and Relevance are also the best of the best. I don't even have to mention the Links because i must admit that i have never seen any better. I will let other people say more or invent other words because it really does suit it! Keep doing what you are doing now because you are exactly on the right path! Thanks for sharing! BOOKMARKED!"

    Ove
    squidoo.com/hardware-core
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

    Our Reviews
    "Great initiative. Will be very usefull to many PC users at home and in business."

    M.
    tnsbelgium.com
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

    Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
    Blogging Den 2

E-Card Virus / Postcard Alert

Posted by cotojo on February 4, 2008


The emails containing a virus link are continuing with their annual rounds. There are many variations, most of which are listed further down this article. As always, there are also many hoaxes going around at the same time, and people act upon the information by forwarding on to all of their contacts. See bottom of article for information on ‘Invitation virus hoax.’

Free PC SecurityClick Image for full article.

Related Post:
eCard Virus Removal August 2008
Have You Received a Postcard/eCard?

Add to Technorati Favorites

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Click here to join FreePCSecurityClick to join FreePCSecurity

WOT Logo

24 Responses to “E-Card Virus / Postcard Alert”

  1. cotojo said

    Mav1c – Housecall / BitDefender /F-Prot will normally remove this using an online scan, which is free.
    More details can be found here:
    eCard Virus Removal

    Regards,
    Colin

  2. mav1c said

    One of my coworkers downloaded this virus, and I have having major trouble trying to get rid of it. The symantec software finds it, but cannot delete or quarantine it. Anyone know how to get this virus removed once it’s been installed?

  3. cotojo said

    Rose – Hello my friend🙂
    Sadly these ecards are still going around under various guises and hit their peaks when special days are approaching, in this case Father’s Day.
    As long as people are aware of these malicious sites and take preventative measures then they will not encounter any problems unless they are foolish or naive enough to follow through and download the Trojan unknowingly.
    Sadly, it is made more difficult as many of these malicious sites are incorporating the names of well known companies in their address or contents.
    Most AV programs will now pick these up and stop them in their tracks, so regular updates are essential.

    Have a wonderful day and week ahead.
    Colin

  4. Rose said

    Today I received a greeting card pointing to a malicious site hosting a Trojan.

  5. […] Posts E-Card Virus / Postcard AlertSmitFraudFix and Zlob RemovalBlockDelete for MSN – More Bad News Virus Removal Tools from […]

  6. cotojo said

    Chris – You’re most welcome my friend🙂
    One got caught but the onslaught continues using different tactics. They really are sad people!
    Have a great,
    Colin

  7. Chris said

    Thanks for the info. The people that do this kind of thing are disgusting. Glad he got caught.

  8. cotojo said

    Tomas -You’re welcome my friend.
    Sadly there are many that seem to enjoy creating viruses and other malicious scripts just for fun In some cases they hope that the sheer volume of traffic generated will bring host servers down or even infect the hosts just to say ‘I did it’.
    It is very sad really and if, as in this case, a warning is necessry I will post it.
    Have a good day and week ahead,
    Colin

  9. Tomas said

    Thank you for the warning.
    Your information helps to recognize the fraud in time, but is it possible to understand that? I can’t love bad people (the thieves for example), but their goal is the obvious. Meanwhile what profit can have the creators of viruses? What for do they invest their time and energy? Where from do appear such people? The reality threatens – thank you for the warning

  10. cotojo said

    Kathy – Hello my dear friend😀
    You’re most welcome, there is so much bad email around now and I’m sure that many will have downloaded from the likes of these believing that they have a card from a friend. It is sad that people are spammed with this stuff!
    Have a great day and weekend ahead my dear friend,
    Take care,
    Colin

  11. cotojo said

    Mary – You’re most welcome🙂
    I’m pleased to hear that everything went fine and it is pleasing to know that you like the info I provide. More and more people are joining the internet each day and hopefully some of this will be of benefit to them, as well as to more seasoned users.
    Have a wonderful day and weekend ahead,
    Colin

  12. Kathy said

    Hi My Friend!
    Thank-you Colin for this important info. I have gotten in a habit of not downloading anything that comes in via email.
    Thanks again.
    Kathy

  13. mary said

    Thanks Cotojo, Everything ended up ok and everyone loved my ecard I really like your site. Im a first time computer user and very scard to use my computer because of stuff like that around. I never know what sites to use or not. Hope your valentines went well. Thanks agian for all the info!!!!

  14. cotojo said

    bittersweetcollide – Thank you for your visit and comment🙂
    Sadly there are a lot of these around again, some with .exe and others using the ploy of installing Adobe Flash which in this instance also contains trojan.
    Have a great weekend ahead,
    Colin

  15. I received this kind of e-card too , I just noticed it was exe file so i ignored it immediately.
    Nice blog you got here, Faved you in Technorati!

  16. […] is infected with a Trojan. I picked it up using a link scanner and can confirm that this … credit : […]

  17. cotojo said

    Mary – For many there is no need to be worried, most ecards ARE genuine, the problem is with those that contain a link asking you to download to view it, which is why it is important to remember that ecards are viewed online and do NOT prompt to download.
    Have a Happy Valentine’s Day,
    Colin

  18. mary said

    Im worried now I just sent all my friends a ecard for valentine day today I hope I didn’t send them somthing bad

  19. cotojo said

    Sue – It is something that everyone needs to be very wary of, especially as in this instance they are using a well known company and many yahoo users use this one.
    I’m always on the look out for viruses etc, and when I received this email I scanned it as I always do, more out of curiosity as I usually just delete them, but with Valentine’s day just around the corner I had a pretty good idea what was going to be in this one!
    Take care my dear friend and have a great day,
    Colin

  20. sueblimely said

    I am so wary now of any emails purporting to send greetings cards. I have started using less well known ones myself now so that it is less likely to be a site that has been the target of these hoaxes.

  21. cotojo said

    Maryt – You’re most welcome my friend🙂
    This is another nasty doing the rounds again!

    Will let you know when I have posted Groundhog meme lol
    Have a great day,
    Colin

  22. maryt said

    Thanks for the warning about the virus, Colin!

    Glad you’ll give the groundhog meme the old college try! Let me know when it’s done. I’d love to read it!🙂

  23. cotojo said

    Jackie – You’re most welcome my friend.
    This one has been released for Valentine’s Day in the hope that recipients believe they have a secret admirer!
    There’s always something going around, but these are timed for specific days.
    Have a great evening,
    God Bless my dear friend,
    Colin

  24. shinade said

    Thanks for the update. I will be on the look-out!!

    You’re the best:):)

Leave a Reply

 
